Tree Charts - Settings

You can choose to save the settings you use in Tree Charts. This feature is optional.

By settings we mean such user interface items as the colour and width of lines.

So if you have chosen to save the settings you use in Tree Charts then such user interface items like the colour and width of lines will be restored within the broad arrangement of tool panels and window size.

You can save tree chart settings to a default file or any file you want.

When you first use the Tree Chart facility there are no settings defined. When you click on the Settings button the choices you have made will get saved. When you next use the Tree Chart facility those settings are loaded.

The Settings button is a button on a tool bar at the top of the window.

Next to the Settings button is the Settings More button.

When you click on the More settings button you have the option to:

Save the current settings (and load them if you want to use them immediately)

Load existing settings.

Any loaded settings will also get loaded the next time you run Tree Charts. If you then click on the Settings button the choices you have made will get saved, and when you next run Tree Charts those settings are loaded. So the Settings button overrides the More settings button. A screen preview is only saved when you click the More settings button.

There is a hint on the More settings button. If you hover your mouse over the More settings button a hint will appear that informs you of the name of the loaded settings file. When you have saved by just using the Settings button the hint is 'Default - Tree Charts'.

For example, save the settings for an Ancestor report of four generations to a file 'Ancesor_four_generations' and the settings for an Ancestor report of ten generations to a file 'Ancestor_ten_generations'. Then in Configuration Control simply select the settings you want to reinstate.

Detail

Ordinarily when you return to the Tree Chart facility the size and position of tool panels are remembered. So settings does not include those items.

Settings does not include the Focus individual or the Highlighted individuals etc. Therefore you can restore the settings for a particular chart even if the focus individual is different. You can restore that kind of information in the History panel.

When Settings are saved and loaded (restored), settings relating to Sources on the Source panel are not included. For example, not included is the List. The reason for this is that includes data on individuals.

When Settings are saved and loaded (restored), settings relating to 'Highlight the relationship from' on the 'Tree Settings 2' panel for the individuals are not included. The reason for this is that includes data on individuals. For example, not included is the from individual. For example, included is the Box Border color.

(2011)

Share |